top of page
  • Writer's pictureSimone "Azúcar" Nikkole

4/20 ~ Counting Stars ~2016

Updated: Feb 5, 2021

Since today is Day of Silence for LGBTQ+ violence. Here is 4/20 +1...


"Counting Stars" , I performed this at my #inspiredwordnyc feature , SPIT. Yes I titled my feature performance. And I had backup and video. When you ask me to feature or host, I give you all my Sugary Sweet Flyness! #teamGrimmie4life #zelda


"Counting Stars ft. Christina Grimmie" for the victims & survivor of Pulse


Lately I been, I been losing sleep

Dreaming about the things that we could be

But baby I been, I been prayin' hard

Said no more counting dollars

We'll be counting stars

Yeah, we'll be counting stars


christina grimmie, 22

stanley almodovar, 23

amanda alvear, 25

oscar aracena-montero, 26

rodolfo ayala, 33

Gone too soon

had the pedigree

to put down roots

change the world

you would light the fuze


I see this life

Like a swinging vine

Swing my heart across the line

In my faces flashing signs

Seek it out and ye shall find

The old, but I'm not that old

Young, but I'm not that bold

And I don't think the world is sold

I'm just doing what we're told

Following ordered steps by God 

living life and following your heart

it continues to beat 

within all of us 

grieving or celebrating your genius

I, feel something so right

Doing the wrong thing

I, feel something so wrong

But doing the right thing

I could lie, could lie, could lie

Everything that kills me makes me feel alive


You are alive 

in the wind 

in the backbeat 

downbeat

and chorus line

you are alive 

in the lyrics

in the words we say and write


Lately I been, I been losing sleep

Dreaming 'bout the things that we could be

Baby I been, I been prayin' hard

Said no more counting dollars

We'll be counting stars

Antonio Brown, 29

Angel Candelario- Padro, 28

Juan Chevez - Martinez, 25

Luis Conde, 39

Cory Connell, 21


Lately I been, I been losing sleep

Dreaming 'bout the things that we could be

But baby I been, I been prayin' hard

Said no more counting dollars

We'll be, we'll be counting stars

Tevin Crosby, 25

Deonka Drayton, 32

Simon Fernandez, 31

Leroy Fernandez, 25

Mercedes Flores, 26


Stars

Stars are what you are

50 hearts gone

taken 50 states 

50 states united all along


I feel the love

And I feel it burn

Down this river every turn

Hope is a four letter word


Peter Gonzalez-Cruz, 22

Juan Guerrero, 22

Paul Terrel Henry, 41

Frank Hernandez, 27

Miguel Angel Honorato, 30


Make that money

Watch it burn

Old, but I'm not that old

Young, but I'm not that bold

And I don't think the world is sold

I'm just doing what we're told

Javier Jorge-Reyes, 40

Jason Jasophat, 19

Eddie Justice, 30

Anthony Laureanadisada, 25

Christopher Leinonen, 32


Your memory will live on 

every time i look at those ramparts we washed

so galantly streaming

you so proudly hailed

towards God's hands stretching

I, feel something so wrong

But doing the right thing

I could lie, could lie, could lie

Everything that drowns me makes me wanna fly


Alejandro Martinez, 21

Brenda McCool, 49

Gilberto Menendez, 25

Kimberley Morris, 37

Akyra Murray, 18


whose broad lives and bright eyes

through the perilous fight

as the gun shots red glare

thy cries bursting in air 

gave proof through the night

that our love is still here


Lately I been, I been losing sleep

Dreaming about the things that we could be

Baby I been, I been prayin' hard

Said no more counting dollars

We'll be counting stars


Luis Omar Ocasio-Capo, 20

Geralda Ortiz- Jimenez, 25

Eric Ortiz-Rivera, 36

Joel Panagua, 32

Jean Mendez Perez, 35

Lately I been, I been losing sleep

Dreaming 'bout the things that we could be

But baby I been, I been prayin' hard

Said no more counting dollars

We'll be, we'll be counting stars


Enrique Rios, 25

Jean Nives Rodriguez, 27

Xavier Serrano Rosado, 35

Christopher Sanfeliz, 24

Yilmary Solivan, 24


(Take that money and watch it burn / Sink in the river the lessons I learned ) x4

Everything that kills me makes me feel alive


Lately I been, I been losing sleep

Dreaming 'bout the things that we could be

Baby I been, I been prayin' hard

Said no more counting dollars

We'll be counting stars

Lately I been, I been losing sleep

Dreaming 'bout the things that we could be

Baby I been, I been prayin' hard

Said no more counting dollars

We'll be, we'll be counting stars


Edward Sotomayor, 34

Martin Torres, 33

Shane Tomlinson, 33

Jonathan Camuy Vega, 24

Juan Velazquez, 37

Luis Vielma, 22

Franky Velazquez, 50

Luis Wilson- Leon, 37

Jerald Wright, 31


Stars

Stars are what you are

50 hearts gone

taken 50 states 

50 states united all along


(Take that money and watch it burn / Sink in the river the lessons I learned) x4


Oh Say does those stars

rainbowed banner yet waves

o'er the land of the free

and the home of slain brave


[30.june.16]


1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page