top of page
  • Writer's pictureSimone "Azúcar" Nikkole

Ride or Die, 5/30

Audio version of this poem is on my Soundcloud. I will be reposting a version of this in Aug 2020.


::i’ve been hid-ing afraid i’ve let you down, inside i doubt that you still love me but in your eyes, there’s only, grace now::

here i am mt olivet feeling the spirit wind around all the languages my thoughts surround and inundate how you away from me, they take

“whoever fall upon that stone shall be broken” you still are my broken piece nothing can equal your priceless worth the silver equals that of dirt how can they continue to quantify a soul of such a mighty birth you continued to serve when lead was your cause no matter how many times they were to do you wrong peter thrice before the crow in the morn but judas, but judas with a kiss before the dawn

::i am guilty ashamed of what i’ve done, what i’ve become these hands are dirty i dare not lift them up to the holy one::

this shame your world did not have i walked alongside you til the end of your time beautiful robe worn for a short while spiting on you m hitting you mocking you they made up their mind to kill you, the king of the jews two acts of “mercy” at the place of the skull man of cyrene carrying your cross vinegar instead of water weakening you with every cost i wish i was at gethsemane instead of you to take this on

::you plead my cause you right my wrongs you break my chains you overcome you gave your life to give me mine you say that i am free how can it be yes how can it be ::

my hologram sat there foot of cross separated from my body the only way i could be overcome by grief barely comprehending john was to take care of me

“for they know not what they are doing” as they gambled away the beauty you had adorned as you continued to be scoffed at by the crowd no sympathy they had for you now

three hours of sudden darkness “my god why has thou forsaken thee” my heart continues to break as the earth began to shake take me lord, take me instead filled with sin, i see you lower your head dreading what has to happen next “it is finished” trickled from your lips your last cry i held on to ever whimper as you gave up your ghost

::though i fall, you make me new from this death i will rise with you oh the grace reaching out for me yes how can it be you plead my cause you right my wrongs you break my chains you overcome you gave your life to give me mine you say that i am free::

captive i was to grief to lose my most beloved son

white was not pure enough to be your last outfit but i watched over you my eyes pierced to each. and every. single.move even nature’s shift i indulged you in spices and ointments to show my care even though i felt and knew your spirit had left me there

::you plead my cause you right my wrongs you break my chains you overcome you gave your life to give me mine you say that i am free how can it be yes how can it be::

still here i am mt olivet covered in the spirit wind around all the languages but all i can think is how you rose again on sunday morning thank you god for coming back to me

::you plead my cause you right my wrongs you break my chains you overcome you gave your life to give me mine you say that i am free x2 i am free yes i am free::

5.apr.2015

italicized song/lyrics by lauren daigle, “how can it be”

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page