top of page
  • Writer's pictureSimone "Azúcar" Nikkole

3/20 ~ To The N***A who Stole My MetroCard ~ 2013

Updated: Feb 5, 2021

So we are at 3/20 + 1...

I was on my way to an Open Mic/ Spoken Word Competition... shouts to #inspiredwordnyc ... and my Metrocard was stolen. Shout out to all the people who gave me Metrocards after I performed this piece. Ya Girl really couldn't get home. You could tell I was really mad because I left autocorrect on, so "your" should be "you're" and "its" should be "it's". So the grammar police don't come calling. This is it in its original angry state.


"To the Nigga who Stole My MetroCard"

yea i called you a nigga

cuz that shit is ignorant

and your soul is black

as the tar

the streets are littered with


you think you stole just a fare

just some change

everything in my possession

is so much more

because each of my steps are ordained by God's blessings

so maybe it was destined

for you to steal the change the trickles through the homeless woman's cup

of who's kids i see

annually and

sometimes weekly

because it depends on how deep the trauma

from the ptsd rings

through the brain of a soul that is stuck at three

even though she is numerically thirteen

and remember the princess stabbing

her king of a dad

and asks me with puppy dog eyes

why chuckie cant even erase her dreams

because he even runs away at the slightest hint of her dads screams


how dare you venture into my second home

on one occassion

and become sticky fingers

with what gives me access to make a difference

trying to change the world

with each syllable word and sentence

that seeps through my my pens ink

or the keyboards clicks


how dare you use my last hard earned

tears drawn

$25

like its nothing

$25 clothed

or should i say barely clothed

scantily clad

in the met

where inspiration was set

and celebrity eyes connect

to reminisce of the changes

time has led

not sure if for the worst or the best yet

the best is yet to come

the earthly prophet kirk proudly said

because you remain heartless

and pocketed

instead of gracing the bartenders grip

for you i spare no lip


you see because of you

a second trip

cause me a bus home to miss

now with an hour and fifteen to marinate

or your stupidness

and to continue

into you to rip

with not listening to my conscience

my superego can forget it

you see ny is not yet where i live

another state is where my head at night can drift

with clear view of the fireflies

in black onyx  skies

ocassionally blessed with the majestic trist

between starlight

and moon's temporal right

see its for my parents livelihood i give

i spit

these words

to win a gift because yearly

the government strips

away their chance to adequately provide

for their ivy life dreaming kids

education is the key to our existence

because back home

in the irie land

and cuban sands

it was much different

sharing rooms

without hot water to bathe in

apparently in some ny apartments

its not much different

but i hope your listening

an american dream they strived for

and i hope my sister and i can give them much more

so enjoy as my parents both still unemployed try and find a way

rubbing pennies together

to try and magically make a dollar

because unemployment is hard to swallow

when your youngest is away at college

and your oldest is drowning up to her eyelids

in 6 figure ivy league lion size debt

have i made you feel better yet

and some think this is a petty theft

tell that to the faces

of the babies

i see on the daily

in foster care before their mother's eyes

could witness the miracle of delivery

tell that to the faces of the teens

who say ms perry

why do you waste your time with me

my parents never wanted me

so you don't have to care for me

out of pity

tell that to the parents i encourage

when we meet

to keep hustling

in program you have goals to reach

so your children can return to you

instead of permanency

before your urine toxicology

is consistently clean


tell that to the teenage parents

that fight and scream

but realize it is better to have their offspring

in the system

so they can receive stipends

and life skills training

but pray silently

and cry secretly

hoping that these choices aren't traumatizing


have i made you wish

you had a time machine

this time is the only one

where  it is polite to renig

please repent from your sin

and help me be relevant

to all those under my wings

and replenish

my piggy bank

money jar of dreams and talents

with the two metrocards you so cunningly lifted

from my carmel coated

marshmallow spotted

pocket

and look me in the eye

promise me

you will tell your game  of thieves to think twice

promise me

you will never do that again

as long as you are alive

and will remember this poem

etched in subway lines and dollar signs behind your eyes

~Azucar~

[31.oct.13/1.nov.13]


2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page